Growing Up

Dear Molly,

Do you know what you want to be when you grow up?  I am still trying to figure this out.

– Fran

Dear Fran,

What an interesting question.  Of course I know what I want to be when I grow up – I’ve known since the day I was born – just like you.  Sounds like you’ve either forgotten who you really are, or you’re not listening to the nudges you’ve been receiving for years – things like knowing what you’re doing when you feel totally and completely alive and activities you love so much you completely lose track of time.  When you put those pieces together, you’ll know more of what you want to be when you grow up – and more importantly who you really are.

Ok, now I’ll answer your question.

When I grow up I would like to travel the world, because I think it will help me understand people better.  I love people.  Also, I just think it will be fun.

I’d really love to help people see the beauty of who they really are, and I think I’d also like to make some art and share it with the world.

So, if you want me to put it in grown-up terms where you ‘grown-ups’ insist on having a label for everything – I suppose when I grow up I want to be a Traveling Artist.

Doesn’t that sound like fun?

I can hardly wait! But, my mom always tells me not to be in a hurry to grow up.

I think she’s pretty smart.

Love,

Molly

 

 

Leave a Reply

