School Days

Dear Molly,

I have an opportunity to go back to school, but I don’t know if I should take it.  I’d been thinking about it for awhile, and then something grabbed my attention about it again just recently.  I’ve already worked for many years, and I just don’t know if it’s worth it.  Can you help me with some insight or guidance?

– To School or Not to School in Tuscaloosa

Dear To School or Not to School in Tuscaloosa,

Are you passionate about what you would be going back to school for?  Is it something you will enjoy – not just when you’re done and because of what it will do for you – but something you can really enjoy along the way?

If so, I would say it’s totally worth it.  You might even find opportunities while you’re there to use your knowledge along the way, so it doesn’t feel like you have to wait until you graduate to do something with it.  Will you be working at the same time, and does your job intersect with what you’ll be learning?  (That’s kind of what I’m talking about, but there are other creative ways to use it too).

Something I always recommend too when you’re not sure about a decision is to close your eyes, and take a few breaths.  Then ask yourself if this is something you really want and why.  Trust the first thing that comes – It’s usually right!

Whatever you decide – have fun!

Love,

Molly.

Leave a Reply

