Handling Overwhelm

Dear Molly,

I’m feeling overwhelmed with too much going on in my life right now.  I know I’m busy and doing a lot of things, but lately I just don’t know they’re the things I really want to do.  It feels like I’m being pushed from this thing to that.  How can I take more control of my life? (and enjoy myself too?).

Overwhelmed in Ontario

Dear Overwhelmed in Ontario,

Great question! I’m sure you’re not alone on this one.  It’s easy to get caught up in the rat race of life – without paying too much attention to the role we’re actually playing in it.  First line of business is to always create some ‘white space’ in your life or day.  This will give you room to pause and really contemplate what it is that you want.  Start there.  Make a list of desires.  Compare your current life to your list and see where you’re hitting the mark and where you need change.

You can either subtract something that’s not working for you, or add something that will bring you more joy.  Whatever the case, it’s important, because you’re the one making the choice!  This is how you start to gain control of your life.

Hope this brings a little relief for you.  Enjoy the changes and the fresh energy they bring!

Love,

Molly.

Leave a Reply

